Why I Chose Kappa Alpha Theta

Hi guys! Today I am sharing with you why I chose to become a member of Kappa Alpha Theta… and honestly Greek Life in general. Deciding to become a member of a sorority can be a hard decision. I think the picture Hollywood paints of it ruins it for a lot of people because they don’t understand what it is truly about. I guess the truth is that you never really know until you become a part of it. Besides that, the process is long, tiring, and can leave you feeling stressed to the max. But the rewards for joining far out-weigh the recruitment process.

 

1
My twin (far right) and I (far left), and our Big (center)! This was Set 1 of Recruitment this past year!

 

For me, joining a sorority was something I always going to do. Growing up I couldn’t wait for the day that I could go to college for that reason. My grandma, mom, sisters, aunts, and cousins all joined and hearing their stories made me so impatient. I also had several male family members join fraternities. I guess you could going Greek is something you do in my family! Finally, when it was my turn it was so exciting (and nerve-racking)!

So why did I choose Kappa Alpha Theta?

The answer is pretty simple… it was home. You probably hear a lot of girls saying that, but I think that only goes to show just how strong that feeling is. My fellow Thetas became a rock for me when school got stressful or being away from home was hard. I know school is also the reason you go to college, and you may feel that a sorority will get in the way of that. All I have to say about this is that no matter what school comes first, and it is like that for every sorority! Most have study hours at least once a week to encourage it (and there is nothing better than studying with your sisters). We, as houses, also have a friendly competition to see who can get the highest house GPA (if that helps motivate you!).

 

2.jpg
This was Bid Day 2016!

It is crazy the relationships that can come out of an experience like this! If you have any questions be sure to ask! I am here to help in any way I can! I will definitely be sharing more on this as I have stuff to say, but your questions are always welcome.

XOXO- Christi

 

Leave a Reply

